Sum 41 Announce Final Album, Unveil New Song “Rise Up”: Stream

Sum 41 have officially announced their final album, Heaven :x: Hell. The double LP is set to drop on March 29th, and the video for the new single “Rise Up” can be streamed now.

The raucous track sees the pop-punk vets in prime form, as frontman Deryck Whibley dishes out nasally vocal hooks to the song’s pogo-ready rhythm. While Sum 41 have declared the upcoming double album their last, “Rise Up” doesn’t sound like a band running out of steam. Instead, they’re going out on top.

News of the album follows Sum 41’s retirement announcement earlier this year. For Whibley, the 20-track Heaven :x: Hell — which pairs a pop-punk “Heaven” disc with the more heavy metal “Hell” flip-side — felt like a proper conclusion.

“Once I heard the music, I was confident enough to say, ‘This is the record I’d like to go out on,’” Whibley said via a press release. “We’ve made a double album of pop punk and metal, and it makes sense. It took a long time for us to pave this lane for ourselves, but we did, and it’s unique to us.”

Looking back on the band’s 27-year career, Whibley said that loves Sum 41 and “what we’ve achieved, endured, and stuck together through, which is why I want to call it quits.”

“There were so many times we could’ve broken up,” he told GQ. “For some reason, we kept sticking it out. I’m proud of that. It’s the right time to walk away from it.”

Sum 41 are always good for an entertaining music video, and the clip for “Rise Up” doesn’t disappoint, depicting a debauched overnight airplane trip (including a cameo from Noodles of The Offspring as the rookie pilot). You can stream it below and pre-order Heaven :x: Hell via Rise Records.

The band is also not done touring quite yet, as they previously announced they will embark on a proper farewell outing. So far, they have a number of headlining and festival gigs lined up for 2024, as seen in the list of dates below. Pick up tickets here.

Heaven :x: Hell Artwork:
sum 41 heaven hell

Heaven :x: Hell Tracklist:
HEAVEN (Disc 1):

01. Waiting On A Twist Of Fate
02. Landmines
03. I Can’t Wait
04. Time Won’t Wait
05. Future Primitive
06. Dopamine
07. Not Quite Myself
08. Bad Mistake
09. Johnny Libertine
10. Radio Silence

HELL (Disc 2):
01. Preparasi A Salire
02. Rise Up
03. Stranger In These Times
04. I Don’t Need Anyone
05. Over The Edge
06. House Of Liars
07. You Wanted War
08. Paint It Black
09. It’s All Me
10. How The End Begins

Sum 41 2024 Tour Dates:
01/12 – San Diego, CA @ Music Box
01/13 – Anaheim, CA @ iHeartRadio ALTer Ego
03/16 – Tokyo, JP @ Punkspring
03/30 – Monterrey, MX @ Pa’l Norte
05/12 – Daytona Beach, FL @ Welcome To Rockville
05/17 – Columbus, OH @ Sonic Temple
06/14 – Hradec, CZ @ Rock For People
06/15 – Nickelsdorf, AT @ Nova Rock
06/16 – Derby, UK @ Download Festival
06/21 – Neuhausen ob Eck, DE @ Southside Festival
06/23 – Schneesel, DE @ Hurricane Festival
06/28 – Ysselsteyn, NL @ Jera on Air
06/29 – GeiselWind, DE @ Mission Ready
06/30 – Marmande, FR @ Garorock
07/04 – Nantes, FR @ La Nuit de l’Erdre
07/05 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
07/09 – Milan, IT @ I-Days
08/07 – Saguenay, QC @ La Baie’s Harbor Village Agora
08/08 – Québec, QC @ Quebec City Old Port Agora
08/09 – Victoriaville, QC @ Rock La Cauze
11/23 – Nanterre, FR @ Paris La Défense Stadium Arena