Black Pumas Announce New Album Chronicles of a Diamond, Share “More Than a Love Song”: Stream

Black Pumas are back with the announcement of their highly-anticipated second album, Chronicles of a Diamond, which is out October 27th via ATO. The psych-rock duo are celebrating the news with its lead single “More Than a Love Song.”

The follow-up to their smash 2019 self-titled debut, Chronicles of a Diamond promises “more power, passion, and daring originality than ever before” from the band. It was produced by Black Pumas’ own Adrian Quesada along with additional production from bandmate Eric Burton and John Congleton. Pre-orders are ongoing.

Previously teased in some of their live shows, “More Than a Love Song” is built on a jangly groove and fleshed out with some orchestral strings, bold electric guitar riffs, and a gospel choir. It offers some sage advice about widening one’s perspective on life: “This life is more than a dream, more than a fantasy, more than a little bit,” Burton sings.

“’More Than a Love Song’ is a message I borrowed from my Uncle Steve,” Burton explains in a press release. “As a songwriter and caregiver, he’d listen to me write songs from afar and if I were lucky he’d have a pointer or two for me. ‘Life is more than a love song.’”

Watch the music video for “More Than a Love Song” below, and then keep scrolling to see the artwork and tracklist for Chronicles of a Diamond.

Chronicles of a Diamond Artwork:

black pumas chronicles of a diamond more than a love song new album single alternative rock psychedelic music news

Chronicles of a Diamond Tracklist:
01. More Than a Love Song
02. Ice Cream (Pay Phone)
03. Mrs. Postman
04. Chronicles of a Diamond
05. Angel
06. Hello
07. Sauvignon
08. Tomorrow
09. Gemini Sun
10. Rock and Roll